Five inducted into SF State Alumni Hall of Fame

President Les Wong and alum Ben Fong-Torres presenting Barbara Lavis Brannon with her 2015 Alumna of the Year award.

President Les Wong, left, alum Barbara Lavis Brannon and alum Ben Fong-Torres after Wong presented Brannon with her 2015 Alumna of the Year award. 

San Francisco State University inducted five alumni into the Alumni Hall of Fame last Friday at the annual Presidents Dinner and Alumni Hall of Fame celebration.

The event, held at the Ritz Carlton in San Francisco, drew more than 400 faculty, staff, students, alumni and friends of the University and featured remarks from President Les Wong, Vice President for Advancement Robert Nava, alum and journalist Ben Fong-Torres and alum and former San Francisco Mayor Willie Brown.

Two alums -- retired Air Force Major General Barbara Lavis Brannon and human rights activist Mu Sochua -- were honored as 2015 Alumnae of the Year. Kevin Anderson, athletic director at the University of Maryland; Sherry M. Hirota, CEO of Asian Health Services; and Daniel Sullivan, renowned theater director; were also inducted into the Alumni Hall of Fame.

To learn more about the honorees, visit

The SF State Alumni Hall of Fame was created in 1996 to honor alumni who have distinguished themselves through extraordinary achievements in their professional and civic endeavors. For a full list of inductees, visit